top of page

My Why

One day I was at my 8-5 cubicle, just going through the day to day BS and I realized that this is NOT what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I have been going through some major self-discovering lately and couldn't quite pinpoint why I didn't feel like I was where I belong. Kinda like a lost little puppy.

On a Sunday, I had a conversation with my husband, who is a chef. He absolutely loves his job. His job is tough and physically demanding but yet he rarely complains. When he complains, it's because it was a full moon and all the crazies were out. I envy him so much. I have longed to LOVE what I do, whatever it was, for longer than I'd like to admit. My husband, Jeff, suggested that I get more into my photography. I kind of chuckled at him because that is a brave and risky move and I told him just that. Jeff said, "You take amazing pictures. You do have a real eye for it". I have already had quite a few sessions with family and friends (Prom, Family, and even a Wedding).

Photography has always been a great passion of mine, since I could remember. Even as a kid with my Polaroid camera, I would always try to get the best angle on my subject.

After some real soul searching and a bad day at work and with the support of my husband (of course), I have recently decided to build a portfolio with the best of clients and make a career out of what I love to do. On my free time, I have built my social media pages on Facebook and Instagram along with creating this website. Since making this decision, I have felt a huge sense of relief. Like I was doing some with purpose. Taking a picture for someone to keep as a memory for a lifetime is HUGE and I am so excited to be that person!

It wasn't until today, that I decided to add a blog onto my website. I am not a blogger, not even sure if I'm doing this shit right. I felt the need to express not just to my clients but myself WHY I am doing this. I have felt a sense of nervousness, scared to fail, and most importantly do not want to let my family down. BUT I also know that when I take a photo and share it with my family/friends, I am so DAMN proud and get so much satisfaction from it. I wish my eyes could take pictures, because almost every day I have a moment of Damn it, I need my camera for this!

My #1. WHY: YOLO Baby! I do not want to be on my death bed regretting that I didn't follow my passions.

#2 .My Family! I want my husband to be so proud of me and I also want my son to know that you can be ANYTHING you want. You gotta want it!

#3 .To have that niche. We have friends and family in all sorts of trades:Plumbing, Tree work, Dental, Construction... this list goes on. And we know that we can call on someone if we need help. Jeff will cook up some "fall off the bone" ribs and beer or money to repay the favor. But from my cubicle, I cannot return the favor. I can't say, "hey, if you ever need XYZ, gimme a call". Now, I have something that my family and friends can say, "I know a photographer and she's great"!

#4. Expanding! In photography, you can never stop learning new techniques and poses. I have barely scratched the service. I LOVE watching youtube workshops with a glass of wine, learning the newest tricks with my DSLR. I love to learn!

I'll stop at #5 (but my "WHYs" are endless right now) - I love a challenge! I get to wake up with a sense of purpose and a challenge. Already having booked some sessions, I am jumping out of my skin with excitement to get started. I cannot wait to see the look of my clients face, when I have captured a picture that they can cherish for a lifetime and pass on!

Welp.. That's my WHY. First Blog done!

I'm out! (haha) That wasn't so hard. :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page